The Big Bang

“Creation is love, and love finds its greatest expression in the act of creation itself. Creation is ecstatic, and the Big Bang is a beatific, radiant requiem of rapture that yodels the illusion of all-that-is only so that it may rediscover itself and continue to love. Creation so enjoys itself that it’s no wonder at all that the universe is infinite, and there is nothing else to do anywhere ever but perpetuate the pleasures of eternity.”–Tony Vigorito, “Nine Kinds of Naked”

Isn’t it amazing that all life comes from such small and humble beginnings? Redwood tree? Little seed. Humpback Whale? Teeny tiny sperm and egg. All seeds contain within themselves the blueprint for a life of growth that will far surpass their origins. It is tempting to think, as a mother who conceived and birthed a child, that my daughter is something “I did”. And surely the care I took while pregnant, and the effort I exerted while in labor was my own. Ultimately however, the glorious, unfolding, dividing of cells that resulted in the miracle that is my child, happened with a volition that was unto itself.  The contemplation of how a seed contains the instinctual mechanics to unleash its life force in obeyance to a silent clock that chimes NOW provides me with enough wonder and awe to last a lifetime. As if that wasn’t enough, each seed is like a cosmic Jack-in-the-Box that goes “Kablooey! Oak Tree!” “Floomp! Sunflower!”. In the presence of such awesomeness, boredom is a crime.

Right now is the perfect time to save seeds. Today Fern and I happened across an Amaranth (Bleeding Heart) plant that was trembling with ripeness. One hand at the top of the blooms was all it took to send hundreds of shiny pin prick brown seeds into my other waiting hand below. Fern, who Gets It, reached out and scarfed the bounty in two seconds. (Yesterday in the garden, she made a beeline for the Borage flowers that we had snacked on the other day. In under five minutes she had picked the plant clean, only stopping to fish out one of the prickly leaves that had made it into her mouth by mistake. She held it up to me in bewilderment as if to say, “What is this party pooper doing in my mouth?”)

There is lots of info out there on the web about how to save all different kinds of seeds. I have been saving heirloom tomato seeds, only to find out I am doing it wrong.

 

I had read somewhere that you could just squish your tomato seeds out onto a paper plate to let them dry. Apparently you are supposed to ferment them. Anyone know if I can still save these, like put them in the freezer or something?

 

There is still time (and tomatoes) to save, and in the meantime I have a lot of other seeds as well. And so I would like to propose…

A Seed Swap!

In exchange for seeds from your garden (or foraging) I will give you some of mine. If you don’t have seeds to share, but would still like to exchange, you can also offer the likes of the following: an original drawing (or one from your child), a swatch of pretty fabric, a few beads, a pretty pebble from the beach or something else simple and dear. The value of seeds far surpasses their weight in gold, but I don’t need gold. The extension and connection of sharing contains an equal amount of joy as the heart of a seed. Also, if you only have 2 or 3 seeds to share, that is enough too. I will be making a button on the sidebar of this blog, and the offer stands.

Right now I can offer:

Chard

Amaranth

Heirloom Tomatoes (mystery mix!)

Spinach

Red Poppy

Nettle

Marjoram

Sugar Pod Peas

Orca Beans

Cranberry Beans

If you are interested, contact me at terrallectualism at gmail dot com and away we go!

If you would like to get involved with seed sharing in San Francisco, check out The Pocket Seed Library to get connected and involved.

Love life.

4 thoughts on “The Big Bang

  1. i can trade you some nettles, if you want another variety, clary sage, kale, lemon balm, astragulus, valerian, oregano, thyme, and probably more!! fun little care package.

  2. I just have to say that I recognized the picture from your post. It’s from my daughter’s favorite bedtime book, I am a Bunny. I can practically recite it from memory now, but I love the illustrations too. My girl likes to point out the frogs and birds and flowers and it’s helped us build up her vocabulary.

Leave a Reply

