Tuesday Tines: The All Things Fae Edition

The Fairy Song

Over hill, over dale
Thorough bush, thorough brier,
Over park, over pale,
Thorough flood, thorough fire!
I do wander everywhere,
Swifter than the moon’s sphere;
And I serve the Fairy Queen,
To dew her orbs upon the green;
The cowslips tall her pensioners be;
In their gold coats spots you see;
Those be rubies, fairy favours;
In those freckles live their savours;
I must go seek some dewdrops here,
And hang a pearl in every cowslip’s ear.

-Shakespeare

You’ll never see a faery by talking about it. So let’s just get on with it, shall we?

No-one illustrates the unseen world better than Miyazaki:

The Cottingley Fairies…I don’t care that they’re a hoax, do you?

I don’t know where this person’s “home town” is, but apparently this is a community event on Beltane that has been happening for generations. Let’s move there, shall we?

You’re asking for trouble if you attempt this, but if you really want to try…how to catch a fairy.

At first she sounds like a crackpot, but actually she’s right on:

If Lady Gaga had a fairy child, it would grow up to be her:

If you’ve ever danced a maypole, you know that it looks nothing like this:

Rather, you have a select few who get the concept of “over, under” and then you have the children running amock and tripping people and that dude behind you who always goes the “wrong” way and the grumpy older women who really wish you would just do it right. It’s a glorious mess.

I can’t wait I can’t wait I can’t wait I can’t wait.

At the age of 9, this kid started a campaign to plant one million trees in Germany. He has surpassed that number and his program is being done all over the world. Obviously, tutored by faeries. (I shed many a happy tear at his efforts, bless him.)

Here’s Susun Weed’s take on Frolicking with the Fairies.

Want to plant a faery garden? There’s a store. It’s a perfect project to do with children. So is building a faery house.

I

In Just (e.e. cummings)

in Just-
spring          when the world is mud-
luscious the little
lame balloonman

whistles          far          and wee

and eddieandbill come

running from marbles and
piracies and it’s
spring

when the world is puddle-wonderful

the queer

old balloonman whistles
far          and             wee
and bettyandisbel come dancing

from hop-scotch and jump-rope and

it’s

spring
and
        the
                  goat-footed
balloonMan          whistles
far
and
wee

I confess, I started today’s tines with a totally different topic in mind, and then a sprite whispered in my ear so I decided to go with the wee folk. Alas, I am out of time and my own little imp is jumping up and down on my lap. There are so many more juicy tidbits to share, and this is only a lame smattering. If I get a chance I will add to this post later on today or this week and make it a full course faery feast. Until then…enjoy….

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Tines: The All Things Fae Edition

  1. i think this is my favorite tines (what does tines mean?) of yours ever. i like the lady who’s not a crackpot……susun’s weeds words and the plants’ words, like salve to my fairy bones. whatever that means. and i need to figure out how to make our house round. you know what, my dad was born on may 1. he was the fairiest. oh my gosh. that article just made my day.

Leave a Reply

