Love in Action

Although it’s an “Around the Garden”  Thursday, most of my current photos look a lot like the last…”Look! A pretty flower! Look! Lush growth! Look! My kid eating dirt!”. So I will forgo the garden for today and instead give a glimpse into yesterday’s morning.

The air was still, the sky still overcast from our late June rainstorm (Global Weirding, hello) and a perfect early morning to go to the beach. San Francisco beaches in the summer become insufferable after 12 noon, as the ice wind picks up, and the shore becomes a giant sand blaster. I’ve found that if I get there early enough, the beaches are quiet and my nerves peaceful, without the need to guard against wind that is like an unceasing, overly friendly puppy.

It was especially poignant to be at the water after my last post on the state of the oceans. Fern and I began our time there by giving the ocean spirit our respectful greeting, and I had my own internal conversation with the waves. Despite my own sense of desperately wanting to “do something to help” and the broken-heartedness around that, the messages I received were not pleas for help nor admonishments for human shortsightedness. Rather, I felt my greeting returned in kind, and re-membered some very important truths:

That dance is good for the body and soul, and a natural response to the rhythm of nature…

To allow awe to open your heart, open it so wide that you are brought to your knees, and to then find that the ground is there to meet you…

That nature speaks (and answers questions) through the language of synchronicity and discovery…

And that discoveries are meant to be shared…

A change of scene can often help to shift perspective, and if that is not enough, looking at things through a different angle can help…

Discovering desire can be helpful in understanding how passion can fuel your life’s path…

However, pursuing desire itself may leave you empty and fruitless…

And often things (even ideas) come to us after we stop trying so hard…

When your dizzying pace and the shifting sands beneathe you cause you to face plant…

Licking the salt off your lips and having a good laugh at your own expense can go a long way in reparations.

What reminders are nature giving you this summer?

8 thoughts on “Love in Action

  1. Fern so accurately depicts all that you are emoting! Babies and the beach are fantastic, and I appreciate all her stages of undress :D.

    Nature has reminded me that, no matter how badly I want it to go at my pace, plants and trees and bumble bees all grow on their own time. I planted two tomato plants, who’s fruits I anxiously awaited, only to have one die on me and the other be picked clean by squirrels.
    And then, out of the blue, when i went to preen and sniff my basil the other day I discovered a little tomato growing up beside them. It is full of hard green fruits and persevering, despite it’s unannounced arrival in the garden.

    1. that is so beautiful aimee! nature is unceasing in her refusal to be micromanaged, but i love how she also provides just in the way we need it sometimes. xoxoxo

  2. I meant to comment on your post the other day. The ocean, and heck the whole planet are of such grave concern to me right now. I waver between feeling lost and defeated to feeling ready to put up a feverish fight, kids in tow. But those photographs just remind you of all that is at stake. Life. Diversity. Heck, learning. We know so little about the great seas and those who inhabit them.
    So, I guess I’m comment on yesterday’s post here…but I wanted to mention that a friend sent me a link to a person channeling Gaia, Mother Earth, last year. And your observation of, “Fern and I began our time there by giving the ocean spirit our respectful greeting, and I had my own internal conversation with the waves. Despite my own sense of desperately wanting to “do something to help” and the broken-heartedness around that, the messages I received were not pleas for help nor admonishments for human shortsightedness. Rather, I felt my greeting returned in kind, and re-membered some very important truths:: reminded me of it exactly. I read the channeled words and expected mayhem, fury, a strong push for us all to do better, fix this mess….and instead the words were the kindest, most loving words of a patient and gentle tone. One that experiences change and even causes change. Now I want to dig up that link somewhere.
    Well, anyhow, thanks for all the great info. and for sharing them here. Sometimes I wish I was some super scientist who could develop new technologies to help in these areas…as sometimes it feels like all the other actions are so insignificant to the greater problems. But I know, each little bit counts. Cheers to you and happy holiday weekend.

    1. i would love that link if you happen to come across it.

      the whole planet (it’s future and the survival of our species) is something that takes up a huge percentage of my daily thinking too. the last few months i have realized i HAVE to balance it out with irreverance and play and laughter and sometimes escapism, or i risk becoming utterly dour.

      our little actions right now are THE ONLY thing that is making a difference…not insignificant at all. and hopefully, but also sadly, most of the technology to fix or address these problems already exists…it’s just a matter of getting those in power to implement them.

      if you ever want to vent or need a pep talk in the realm of earth activism/grief, just let me know. i’m happy to offer support.

  3. I must admit, these beach pictures make me nostalgic for my own toddlers for yesteryear. What an amazing time, so alive, so instinctual, so unselfconscious. I love your captions to the photos, just lovely.

  4. This made me smile smile smile. Thank you mary, fern, and spirit of the ocean. Such sweet truthfilled insights. And fern’s dancing cracks me up.

Leave a Reply

