She Loves Skullz

.

Lighting the candles at night, shaking the rattle bones and greeting the ancestors…Fern loves our Dia de los Muertos altar.

When we head down the hall to the front door, ready to walk out into the day, she reminds me to say hi. “Hi…aw….hiiiiii. Hiiiii.”. Listening intently as I say the names of each face, she points out each picture and also each skull. “Anotha one. Anotha one.”.

For the picture of Leo she gets very quiet and just says, “Awww. Aw.”.

It feels full, and rich, to include in her extended family, those who have already passed through “The Frightening Door”.

I have begun,
when I’m weary and can’t decide an answer to a bewildering question
to ask my dead friends for their opinion
and the answer is often immediate and clear.

 Should I take the job? Move to the city? Should I try to conceive a child
in my middle age?

 They stand in unison shaking their heads and smiling-whatever leads
to joy, they always answer,

 to more life and less worry. I look into the vase where Billy’s ashes were
it’s green in there, a green vase,

 and I ask Billy if I should return the difficult phone call, and he says, yes.
Billy’s already gone through the frightening door,
whatever he says I’ll do.

Marie Howe

This weekend will be full…of grandparents and halloween festivities, of procuring special foods for our spirit friends and taking a little time for my own yearly birthday anniversary on Day of the Dead itself. I hope you have a wonderful festive time and I’ll be back with images and tales next week.

Thank you for all the thoughtful responses to my post about schooling for Fern. I have truly appreciated each one and will take time throughout the next week to respond, perhaps in another full post.

Happy Hallowe’en!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “She Loves Skullz

  1. beautiful altar! her reaction to leo’s photo makes me choked up, and the poem, the frightening door,the questions! man it always leads back to that cosmic life-death-life cycle, and finding wisdom and solace in those who have passed beyond is the most gracious and respectful response. happy birthday to you too! what a special day to come into this world…when the veil is think and spirit life is so protective and active around you. i think that is a rare blessing. have a happy and bewitching halloween! can’t wait to see photos of the antics.

Leave a Reply

