Keep On Keepin’ On

This past week has been busy! Busy with celebrating the first of my 39th birthdays, with enjoying Grandparents, co-mingling with dead friends, managing candy expectations and doing some inner spelunking about the forward trajectory of my life. Combine all that with either 1. a lack of photogenic moments and 2. a lack of remembering to bring the dang camera when we go out, results in Too Much to Say and No Pictures to Entertain You With.

However, we haven’t touched in for a while about the Tar Sands. Have you been following the updates? I think this issue has been slightly buried by the Occupy Protests. For me, I had to step back for a minute when Leo got sick. There was only so much grief and worry I could handle. This is the topic of a much longer post, but I am surfacing from my recent adventures in the underworld, and the Tar Sands are back on my radar.

This Sunday, thousands of people are surrounding the White House to support President Obama in saying NO. Here is a great video from Julia Louis- Dreyfus.

President Obama made his first real comment about the Tar Sands last week, and has taken on responsibility for making the decision (before he was kinda passing the buck to the State Dept…which has been uber shadey in their dealings with public response. Boooooo.). And holy crow of an update…this just in. Whoa effin’ nelly, way to totally blow it, State.

I haven’t heard much about any rallies in SF on the 6th. I’m on all the email notifications, but maybe I missed something. I’ve also been kinda out of it. If you’re more hip, could you clue me in?

Push forward. Obama must hear our voices around this. Progressives have the ear of the media and government like never before. Speak up.

p.s. Thank you for all the kind and lovely birthday wishes! It was a great day (with a big revisit of Crows vs. Hawks…hurrah!) and I was so warmed by your loving words. It’s a big part of my gratitude on this turn around the Sun…having made the connection with you folks…it truly has been, and I hope will continue to be, such a gift. xo

4 thoughts on “Keep On Keepin’ On

  1. i thought you might be 30 maybe, at a stretch. I need whatever it is that you’re taking (or living…) hope i said happy birthday already…but if not HAPPY BIRTHDAY gorgeous lady!
    xx

  2. ha! you girls make me smile. what’s funny, is that since i hit my 30s, and the last two years especially, i have aged significantly…in my own eyes. since fern was born, the lack of sleep and the increase of stress has definitely taken its toll. but i guess if you don’t know what i looked like before, perhaps i do still look young after all. ๐Ÿ™‚

    no secrets. i think diet is the most important and i’ve been vegetarian for 20 years, with an emphasis on whole foods. i’ve used spf 15 moisturizer for about 12 years, but before that was a sun worshipper. i scrub with baking soda and apple cider vinegar and use jojoba at night. and i totally use regular castille soap on my face, even though you’re not “supposed” to.

    i always wanted to age with grace, but i have to admit the first few years of my 30s saw me kicking and screaming. since i had the babe, so much has changed about my appearance that i just don’t care so much anymore.

  3. Ha! I’ll be celebrating my second 39th birthday come February ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Nah, I’m actually feeling pretty good about turning 40. I too have noticed the accelerated aging since Clover was born though, it’s crazy the effect those little buggers have on our bodies. Ah well, I’d say we’re both doin’ just fine regardless ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for the Tar Sands update. It’s exciting the power that the progressive voice seems to be gaining these days…

Leave a Reply

