For You

This is for a dear friend who is on an achingly beautiful, journey of the heart.

This is for my weary self, who’s composure shattered in the middle of the night.

This is for you, as we enter into the cozy, intimate, dark time of the year.

This is for love.

What can we do but keep on breathing in and out,modest and willing, and in our places? ~M. Oliver

To pay attention, this is our endless and proper work ~ M. Oliver

When it’s over, I want to say: all my life I was a bride married to amazement. I was the bridegroom, taking the world into my arms. ~M. Oliver

So this is how you swim inward. So this is how you flow outwards. So this is how you pray. ~M. Oliver

Meeting you was fate, becoming your friend was a choice, but falling in love with you I had no control over. ~Unknown

There is a sacredness in tears. They are not the mark of weakness, but of power. They speak more eloquently than ten thousand tongues. They are messengers of overwhelming grief…and unspeakable love. ~Washington Irving

There never was a child so lovely but his mother was glad to get him asleep.R. W. Emerson

Honest good humor is the oil and wine of a merry meeting, and there is no jovial companionship equal to that where the jokes are rather small and laughter abundant. ~ W. Irving

True Friendship comes when Silence between two people is comfortable. ~D.T. Gentry

Grateful for a foggy adventure with two of my favorite people in the world. (Uncle Shaners is back in town!). All pics taken at the Sutro Baths.

Finally, this one’s for Leo and I.

Have a beautiful weekend.


8 thoughts on “For You

  1. Love all these quotes! They’re so wonderful and even more so woven into this magical series of photos. The Sutro Baths, another destination I have yet to visit, ah one day. The video and song are really lovely too, beautiful post all around!

  2. i haven’t been to the sutro baths–it looks gorgeous (and only amplified by the words you chose to accompany the photos). thanks for the idea for the next family day trip!
    hope you all are off having a lovely weekend.
    p.s. i have been meaning to tell you since you made mention of it on my blog back in october–we are taking the kids to the sunrise service on alcatraz this year. bought tix forever ago, it seems. and now it’s just a few days away!

  3. Beautiful combinations of words and images. The fog makes everything look so magical!

    I just wanted to let you know I finally got my swap package from Heather (light and macaroni) and to thank you for creating such an amazing chain of international loveliness! I enjoyed the swap process so much and I’ll be sure to take part if you run it again some time.

    I blogged about my package here: http://wherewishescomefrom.blogspot.com/2011/11/package.html
    I’d love to see you do a post about all the packages… just to see how it all worked out…

    Thanks again,
    Sadhbh

Leave a Reply

