In the Meantime

The Rain has finally come to San Francisco. Late in the morning yesterday, Fern and I put on galoshes and went on a puddle stomping walk. It was just she and I, and we splooshed down to Cafe du Soliel for hot cocoa (Fern), soy mocha (Mama) and buttered toast (to share). Lately Fern has been playing with the idea of “missing you”. As we finished up, the conversation went like this:

Fern: I missed you today.

Me: Really? I’m right here. But I miss you when we’re not together.

Fern: I miss Daddy.

Me: Aw, you miss Daddy.

Fern: In the meantime, let’s go for a walk.

Me: Did you just say “in the meantime”?

Fern: In the meantime, let’s go for a walk!

Thank you for all the heartfelt (and permissive) comments on my last post. Indeed, I am going to take a brief break. We are going up to Shasta this weekend (Yay! Yay! Hooray!), and I hope to be back in this space on Monday with some new adventures to share.

In the meantime, I bid you adieu with appreciation, gratitude and love.

See you next week!

4 thoughts on “In the Meantime

  1. teeheeeee I tried calling today lady but you were out. If I don’t catch you tomorrow I surely will when you’re back from Shasta – thank goodness for weekend breaks away in happy places.

  2. Rain, rain, rain! I can’t wait to see all the wildflowers that spring up beneath your feet!

    In the meantime, I hope you all are having fun at home this weekend.

    xo

Leave a Reply

