Shenanigans

Rainy indoor days bring a welcome relief from all the schlepping around we usually do. The big outing for the day might be a puddle stomping walk, otherwise the agenda is to be as cozy as possible. Our time ends up being peaceful and slow and I end up realizing how much Fern (and I’m guessing all children) need this type of unstructured downtime at home. I think we do a lot of that, but a whole day spent not going anywhere and not accomplishing shows me that really, we don’t.

But there’s a break in the clouds today and we have a Very Important Mission to go on (you’ll hear about it on Friday), so we gots to get to it. I’m assuming that after a day of being nekkid, trying to get the kid dressed is going to be epic.

Our friend Jan passed down the little “animal cracker sized” cookie cutters she used with her children and they provided the best indoor fun.

The kids discovered that our couch, sans cushions, is wonderfully bouncy. So now one of the first orders of the morning is spent de-pillowing the couch. Not only is it good for jumping, but the cushions are great for making wobbly, sliding mountains. This is another upside of living frugally (and recycling too)…you don’t give a shit if your street-score couch turns into a bouncy castle.

The primary reason Jeff is taking pictures here is to showcase My New Shoes. It’s a Big Deal and a rare occasion when Mama gets something for her hoofs. Lately I have been obsessed with wedge sandals, addictively gazing at them online. These were an Etsy score…vintage “Cherokee of California” from the ’80s.

Now, if it would only stop raining so I could wear them out…

Not so great for jumping in though…

And the aftermath. This is par for the course for our house these days.

Thank you for all the lovely comments on my last post! I am back logged on responding, but hope to get to it by the end of the week. See you on Friday.

3 thoughts on “Shenanigans

  1. Welcome to my life! They love the couch deconstructing and the jumping and the blanket houses and nekkidness. Good to see you are chilling with it. I wasn’t allowed to jump on couches when I was young but as there were so many kids (5) not listening to them….my parents just gave up – so we let our babes do it too. It’s a rite of passage in my opinion. And woohoo, those are some majorly hawt shoesies Mary! I’ve been eyeying up similar pairs for over a year now. Is it true? Can you jump in em?
    much love yo
    x
    sorry, i don’t know why i had to go “yo” the moment called for it.

  2. Yay for couch jumpin’ and nekkid cookie bakin’! Your house looks like fun! Way to break in those wedges girl, haha! Oh, and that last pic is so classic, I love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

