American Beauty

Saturday: A trip to Petaluma to see America and Adam.

Ready to start truckin’.

You who choose, to lead must follow.

Reach out your hand if your cup be empty.

If your cup is full, may it be again. 

And my tunes were played on the harp unstrung.

I would hear your voice come through the music…I would hold it near as it were my own.

If I knew the way, I would take you home.

If my words did glow with the gold of sunshine.

Between the dawn and the dark of night. (via)

Sunday: Sunday Streets on Valencia.

La dee da da da, La da da da da da. (Semi-Secret Square Dance Society). (BTW, want to know my definition of pure torture? Only getting to watch, and not do, one of my favorite things in the whole world, because my kid’s being an a**hole. Oh the humanity.)

A friend of the devil is a friend of mine.

By the way, the title of this post is not to be confused with the movie. I’m referencing this. Which is one of my favorite, but rarely listened to, summertime albums. This past week I have fallen in love with this song, again.

How was your weekend?

7 thoughts on “American Beauty

  1. okay, the dead are pure summer to me too! i want to start listening to that album this week while the temps are bright and sunny 80s! and i too LOVE square dancing…why is it the most simple fun thing in the world? your outfit is adorable and so is that pouty babe on your hip 😉

  2. so weird! i have been listening to that album all week, too. i’m not much of a deadhead, but one of my highschool buddies was. i’d spend a lot of time at his mom and dad’s house on the delta, and they played that record a lot. it grew on me. his mom passed on last year and i’ve been thinking about her lately, so it’s been on the rotation quite a bit, great summer music. great minds think alike! man, i want to be in the city so bad right now. i am so tired of being where everyone is white and there is no good food and nothing to do. we’ll be in the bay next week, when i know more of what we will be up to, we should try to meet up.

  3. i have so totally been jamming that song too, mama! not the album, but one of the numerous show versions, whatever is coming up on my mp3 player. it keeps coming up, like it knows. my child was an a$$ this weekend too, i hear you on that. 🙂 my parents met square dancing, those sf dancers are so cool.

  4. Well Mary? Are ya? Are ya moving to Petaluma? THE MOON, was nothing half as spectacular here as that photo taken in SF depicts. We all went outside in the frizzin cold, could see that shadowy grey moonlight all over the place, and then when we shone our eyes upward, yep there it was, THE MOON, looking bright but not looking closer nor bigger. Still, i should be grateful for it’s ever watchfulness, a full moon is always beautiful. Time spent with friends that are like family is time well spent. Keeeee-ute dress Mary, get your knees up and dance next time!

  5. that cd reminds me of the dorms so strongly. danced danced danced to it in that sweet cu dorm hall so many days and nights. cracks me up thinking about it now. what beautiful friends you have there miss. her name is so interesting! her parents named her america? i always like it when you wear overalls! but i seem to like whatever you wear actually.

  6. beautiful pictures!

    i just watched a documentary about the making of that album. it was good! i love ripple, that song is just so awesome. i can’t stop listening to “loser” live at tivoli concert hall. the dead rule.

Leave a Reply

