The 2nd Annual Bioregional Swap

 

 

Hi friends! Greetings from our wi-fi hotspot in the land of milk and honey. Otherwise known as The Front Porch, Square Pond, Maine. It’s a gorgeous day, albeit a bit muggy. The lake is warm, the wild blueberries are enthusiastic, the chipmunks are foraging and I hope you are easing into August like an early morning canoe ride on a glassy lake.

If you were with me last year, you may be surprised to realize that It’s That Time Again. I thought it wise to drag myself away from other pressing matters (like running away from horseflies and throwing pine cones in the water with a certain wee one) to get the sign-ups started. I am going to have so much to share with you when I get home, that I wanted to have the ball rolling so I can assign partners shortly after returning. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, click on that link up there ^ or do a search on this blog for “bioregional swap”. This post has several links down at the bottom that are fun and inspiring.

So here’s the skinny on the fatty goodness…and I’ve kept the guidelines the same as last year, although I will also do an updated reminder when partners are announced.

A BIOREGIONAL SWAP

What have you harvested this year? Do you plan on doing any canning? Did you come across so many feathers you don’t know what to do with them all? Have a favorite sea stone that whispers to you it’s dreams of seeing far off lands? Would you like to receive a care package from an old friend just met, with little magical gleanings from a land your feet may never have touched?

Leave a comment letting me know you want to participate. I will randomly match names together, and then let you know who your swap partner is. You have until October 1st to complete your package and send it out (to give enough time for late harvest canning or seasonal medicinal making!).

Here are some examples to give you an idea what your package could contain: Jam, salve, seeds, artwork, photos, pressed flowers, feathers, stones, bones, tinctures, flower essences, driftwood, poems, mixed cds, special books, homemade brews, embroidery, vintage thrift finds….anything that represents you and your bio region. (It goes without saying, but seeds/plants that could become invasive should be excluded from your package.)

This is an opportunity to not only make a new friend and receive mail goodness, but also for you to deepen into your own definition of how the land you live on speaks to you.

I truly hope you’ll consider joining (and rejoining!) us. Everyone is welcome, whether you have a blog or not, and especially if you are having thoughts like “I’m not creative enough…cool enough…spiritual enough…garden-y enough…”. Believe me, you are, and this is a chance for you to discover just how much so.

And if that’s not enough incentive…my swap partner will be getting (amongst other things) a jar of jam made from them blueberries up there…

Ah, life is so sweet. Happy Lammas and here’s to the last hurrahs of summer!

See you in a week and a 1/2.

 

41 thoughts on “The 2nd Annual Bioregional Swap

  1. I’m new to your blog and am loving reading through all the archives. I’m especially enjoying your foraging adventures! I don’t have a blog (at least not yet) but would love to share some local treats and treasures and make some new friends in the process. Please count me in!

  2. I’ve been reading your blog for half a year or so, and I too would love to be part of this swap, send off the treasures of my home, and meet some new people!

  3. I’ve been lurking on your blog for about a month, but your ‘Please join, even if…’ paragraph made me finally gather my courage to ask if I can play with the cool kids! Pretty please?!? I’m in Northern Michigan and I promise to include a bottle of our handmade, pure Maple Syrup in my swap package. (Did you hear that bribe? Shameless…;) ) This looks like SO MUCH FUN!

  4. i realllly want to participate again, but i think my plate is just too full to add another thing. i feel so lucky that you were my partner last year…..i’m still enjoying the goodies!! i hope to jump back in next year…….can’t wait to hear about your east coast trip. ♥

  5. Me too! Have never commented but this sounds awesome and I am doing more canning and seedsaving this year so please sign me up!

  6. Hello! I just found your blog. I am a brand new blogger. I just started up my blog a couple of days ago. This sounds incredible!! 🙂 please add me. I would be so excited to do a swap. 🙂 Janet

  7. Please count me in! I read about this last year on your blog but was too late. Definitely want to be in on it this year! I don’t have a blog yet but you can find me on webstagram as steel tulip 🙂

    1. ah, dear shannon. partners were assigned several weeks ago. missa linked to the original sign up, but it’s passed! i’m sorry we missed you this year, but i’m sure we’ll be doing round 3 next year. xo

Leave a Reply

