The Opening of the Bunk House

If you are friends with me on Facebookpalm, then you may have already seen the swoonfest that is The Paris Time Capsule apartment.

Behind the door, under a thick layer of dusk lay a treasure trove of turn-of-the-century objects including a painting by the 19th century Italian artist Giovanni Boldini.
The woman who owned the flat had left for the south of France before the Second World War and never returned.
But when she died recently aged 91, experts were tasked with drawing up an inventory of her possessions and homed in on the flat near the Trinité church in Paris between the Pigalle red light district and Opera.
Entering the untouched, cobweb-filled flat in Paris’ 9th arrondissement, one expert said it was like stumbling into the castle of Sleeping Beauty, where time had stood still since 1900.
via The Telegraph

This article absolutely flipped me out. I have dreams about such things…finding a hidden door that leads to a room of abandoned, antique treasures, a frozen moment in time of a different life. Golden age thinking, %100!

So I told y’all several weeks ago that there was still one more Maine post, but I was waiting for the appropriate context to share. Turns out time capsules are just the thing!

By the edge of the forest resides The Bunk House. Built long before camp, it is a tiny shack with bunk beds built into the wall, and was used for hunting and, in the winter, ice fishing. But ever since I was a kid, it has been used only for storage, and for the last 15+ years…as a squirrel’s nest. We realized this past summer that there was a sizable hole in the roof, and that anything we wanted to preserve needed to be moved elsewhere. The chances of it withstanding another winter are dubious.

The afternoon that Jeff started clearing it out, he walked down to Little Camp, where Fern and I were playing “clean the beach of pine needles” and said,

“You better come down to the bunk house. It’s like the flea market of your dreams.”

I knew there was some cool stuff in there and as a child I always looked forward to unlocking the bunk house and dragging out old toys. But it had been a very long time for me, and some other things had been added. And so I present to you, my very own Time Capsule Swoonfest.


My dad’s cigar box of WWI war toys. Because nothing says FUN like trench warfare!

My Gram and Aunt Marion were both Master Craftswomen, especially when it came to stenciling with bronze powder and gold leaf. We have many items still, thank goodness, but they also did stenciling of the bright and cheery variety.


This ancient wicker and leather bag has all kinds of compartments and hooks and other specialnesses for fishing. For a while there, a lot of people were finding this blog because they had done a search for “Foraging Bag” (probably spurred by The Hunger Games). It was only after we left Maine that I smacked my forehead in realizing that THIS would have made an amazing forager’s companion.

Other bits and bobs.


Detailing on a lamp.


This was the college suitcase for a very young dad.


Once upon a time, you could collect a whole set of dishware at your local supermarket. “With every $10 purchase…”. My Gram had collected TWO sets.


Wedding china and squirrel’s nest.


Fern was very, very sad when we took this away from her.

And here are some random photos from the inside of camp, that again have been waiting for their proper moment…


What else do you do during the long New England winter? Braid a rug, that’s what.


My favorite.

Sigh. Well, it’s time to begin our week and go out into the modern world. Tell me about your own secret time capsules and also, how did you fare during our uber intense full moon weekend?

Happy Monday!

9 thoughts on “The Opening of the Bunk House

  1. Well, I’m speechless. I would not be able to stop touching all of the pretties were I you. I can imagine how important it was for you to be able to connect with your history in this way, it makes it real, it exists even now!…..there seems to be so much preserved history in America; Steve and I observed this when we were there – and were amazed and thankful that not everything everywhere has made way for the “future”. Girl, that little dagger in it’s pouch is my favourite, can you just see the adventures it’s had?! Actually, the toy soldiers in the box are a close tie. hmmmm. Thanks for sharing your wonderland Mary. xo

  2. Oh wow!!!! That is amazing. The rug and those chairs are to die for. Congratulations I such a find. Always better when it has a personal meaning too!

  3. oh my goodness!!!! such beauty!! from both, the paris apartment and the bunk house, as well. old antique finds are simply the best. the smell, the textures, the wonderment, the aura and mystery behind every item. i know how proud you must be to find all of the amazing treasures from the bunkhouse… i know it must have really put a huge smile on your face!! the pictures are all so pretty, i don’t have a favorite, although i do admire all of the wonderful craftsmanship in that beautiful handmade rug. i just recently took up making handmade rugs and am loving it. 🙂 joe and i love going to antique shops and just staying the whole day….as i know you do, too. 🙂

  4. first off, that apartment is so awesome! can you imagine being one of the people that got to walk through there for the first time???? it must have been crazy!

    and wow! the bunk house is certainly filled with loads of treasures! how fun it must have been to go through all of that. and i think knowing whose it was makes it way more special! i love all furnishings inside the house. what a dreamy place to stay!

  5. I did come across your fb link, and was totally amazed, it was such a novel moment, and full of romance, I can only imagine she was in love with someone who died i the war and she could never go back!!! But we all have our stories I guess. Your incredible find here is astounding too. I love how our grannies generation were so naturaly crafty and caring with all they had. I love how we see it now, appreciate it all. xx

  6. my gosh! amazing indeed. Back home it’s so fun to go to people’s summer homes and see the “old junk” folks keep in their cabins and storage barns. Such treasures, not neglected just waiting for the right time. There’s much to be said for hoarding in my humble opinion 😉 I hope you guys kept that knife for Fern to have when she’s old enough.

Leave a Reply

