Oh Me Oh My Oh

This turning 40 thing is feeling pretty good so far.

My Mom came into town a few days before, just for the day. We took a stroll in the Presidio and went out to dinner at Emmy’s Spaghetti Shack.

The actual day of started out like this.


A cube cake, with salted caramel mousse on top of a chocolate praline thingamayummy. Fern ate more of it than I did.

And the afternoon included a surprise, which is why this post is so brief.

I haven’t had a functioning bike since 2001 or so. Public Bike Works is a SF company that offers a spectacular deal on their most basic model. And that basic model is still a retro cutie with seven speeds and it goes up San Francisco hills like a hot knife through buttah. (Thank you Mom, Dad and Jeff!)

When I was a kid, my bike was my best friend. Here’s to the second half of my life and proof that life begins at 40.

Imma gonna go ride my bike. Bye!

P.S. Stay tuned for the expected mid life reflections and other awesomeness later this week.

P.P.S. How was your Halloween/Samhain/Day of the Dead?

Oh, and P.P.P.S. In lieu of my usual live and let live view of political leanings, the only vote for life on the planet tomorrow is Obama. He’s not the greatest, but he’s a helluva lot better than Mitt. Seriously people. Hurricane Sandy was not random.

10 thoughts on “Oh Me Oh My Oh

  1. mary, that looks like a fabulous day you all had… i know you enjoyed spending time with your mom… i bet that spaghetti was good… that restaurant just looks like it has to be good. 🙂 yummy looking cube cake and THAT BICYCLE! love it. 🙂 yep, my bike was my best friend, too…. every day, all day, when i was little.. i was usually riding my bike… i love mine, too… such fun….. hey, i am seeing that turning 40 should be an awesome time, then…. yay!! hey, mary, i know you have been really busy, but when you get a chance, will you check the email i sent you a few days ago? thanks….

  2. Happy Birthday Mary!! I have been truly enjoying getting to know you through your blog, and I wish you all the best.

    I’ve been 40 for two years now, and while my life has been more full of uncertainty and drama than ever before, I have to say I’ve never been in a better space emotionally and mentally. It’s like something just kind of clicked and most of my inner angst cracked and peeled and fell away. My forties so far have been a time of discovering what no longer serves me in my life and letting those things go (attitudes, mental ruts, etc.)

  3. Wow! Your new wheels rock! Bicycles are pretty much the most amazing thing, but red bicycles are the very best. I used to have a red one, but now I’ve got two blues. Happy Ridin’!

  4. After sharing a room with your new bike for a night, I can testify that it is indeed a beauty as are you! Totally rockin’ forty hot mama 😉

    So glad I got to spend time with you. Also, Clover shed some serious tears after we had been home for a bit about wanting to go back to Fern’s house. She wants a playdate ASAP. I finally got her to stop crying so we could go out to dinner and on the back of her kid’s menu was the question “What makes you smile?” and a box to draw something in. She drew a little girl and when I asked who it was she said “Fern”. Haha, those two really hit it off this time 🙂

    Ok, I also just realized how incredibly adorable you would be on your red bike in the roadrunner ensemble! Love!

Leave a Reply

