And So the Sun Rises on Another Day

Dear Life, how precious you are.

IMG_2077
We climbed to the top of Machu Picchu our back stairs to sing up the morning.

The Winter Solstice sun is born over the horizon, the same deep and glowing shade of red that we all knew in the womb. The same color that is illuminated through my closed eyelids if I lift my face to the sky at midday. The same fire that burns at the heart of the Earth is also the same as the ember that radiates in my own hearth.

IMG_2076
The small forest at Koshland park, home to the Crow Clan, cradles the new born sun in its arms.

This morning we woke early, in anticipation of daybreak. I looked at Fern’s silhouette as she kneeled between Jeff and I. She leaned forward and touched my chest and said,

You came from my heart and I came from your heart, right?

She turned to Jeff and repeated, And you came from my heart too, right Daddy?

Yes my love. That’s right.

IMG_2099
This building downtown faces East with its windows. It’s like the bars on a cellphone…our Sunrise Reception.

IMG_2092

IMG_2086

IMG_2125
And now we know where you sleep, friend.

IMG_2120

Good Solstice morning to you, friends. Did you wake to say prayers at 3:11 am, to celebrate the new Baktun?. Or perhaps you were like the gentleman I spoke to last night who, when I wished him Happy Solstice, said, “What’s that? Oh, is that part of the 2012 nonsense?”

For my fun and snarky take on the 2012 hullabaloo, you can read back to the beginning of this year. I find the most meaning by greeting things as they are, with as much clear seeing as I can muster. I accepted the gift of the daily miracle, the unbelievable feat of another day dawning, and when I suddenly awoke at 3am, I fell back asleep by chanting the Four Immeasurables. Winter Solstice may be one of my favorite days on the seasonal wheel. Just as the light dances for the shortest amount of time, the Bard’s tune also welcomes in the promise of lengthening days and as Fern said this morning, And then next it will be Easter!

May all beings everywhere
Plagued by sufferings of body and mind
Obtain an ocean of happiness and joy
By virtue of my merits.

May no living creature suffer,
Commit evil, or ever fall ill.
May no one be afraid or belittled,
With a mind weighed down by depression.

May the blind see forms
And the deaf hear sounds,
May those whose bodies are worn with toil
Be restored on finding repose.

May the naked find clothing,
The hungry find food;
May the thirsty find water
And delicious drinks.

May the poor find wealth,
Those weak with sorrow find joy;
May the forlorn find hope,
Constant happiness, and prosperity.

May there be timely rains
And bountiful harvests;
May all medicines be effective
And wholesome prayers bear fruit.

May all who are sick and ill
Quickly be freed from their ailments.
Whatever diseases there are in the world,
May they never occur again.

May the frightened cease to be afraid
And those bound be freed;
May the powerless find power,
And may people think of benefiting each other.

For as long as space remains,
For as long as sentient beings remain,
Until then may I too remain
To dispel the miseries of the world. -Shantideva

Last night we took Fern to Tom and Jerry’s, our accidental, but delightful, seasonal tradition. (If you’ve been with me for a while…)

IMG_2073

IMG_2057

Fern was terrified of Santa, so no picture this year. Jeff, on the other hand…

IMG_2069

dsc03066
December, 2010

Pay attention, because it all goes so fast.

IMG_2063
December 2012

Since I knew I would be deep in the trenches of present making (why oh why do I do this to myself), Fern and I had a very beautiful, and very cold, sacred solstice walk earlier in the week.

IMG_2015
For the benefit of Sara…Fern loves her headband.

IMG_2020
At Redwood Regional Park.

IMG_2038

IMG_2027

IMG_2031

And so the day beckons on. I’ve not a moment to spare because my vast love for my daughter has compelled me to make her a present slightly out of my league. I imagine you are in full celebration and Get er done mode. WE CAN DO IT. So much love to you all, and I’ll see you next week, after we’ve all coasted downhill from Peppermint Mountain.

Joyous day. Joyous Life. Joyous Moment.

Happy Solstice.

IMG_2024

12 thoughts on “And So the Sun Rises on Another Day

  1. Hello darling friend, long time it feels like. Your posts ground me sometimes. The post where you offered kindness reminded me to consider all things with love, and this one reminds me to take notice. I felt like I had been in a great space with myself and how I viewed outwards (positively) until we came back from travelling; it’s been hard to center myself since then. like life got so crazy busy and i never recovered that peace. I feel like these last few posts of yours though, are like little reminders on reclaim that. hmmmm what else. Jeff with Santa is funny, he looks elvish in his Sara-hat. Fern is most definitely starting to look more like you. misses and loves teeny x

  2. You know what, it is limitless how much you can pour into one post. I am sure I love you MARY: ) and if I had been blessed enough to come to SF we would have skipped about with glee for all the joy that can reciprocate. I have been way off course from here, working diligently quite literally day and night : ( its been such a task, and here I am in the airport with M, waiting on our very delayed flight. We have played rounds and rounds of connect 4, snap and written stories, and finally I downloaded an app for M, and out with my laptop, and oh what excitement to remember, the universe has so kindly offered me lots of hours to do whatever. I can catch up with Mary!!!!
    Happy Chirtsmas dear one. I of course imagined sending off gorgeously handmade pressies and cards from my studio, don’t you know. But nope no cards, and mostly bought presents, bought with hard earned cash with gives me a lovely sense of satisfaction though.

    For Solstice we went to a medievel play about the three shepherds, magic and very funny. We went to see santa at a riding school in the mountains, and stood by the fires to keep us warm, from cold and damp stealing in so early.
    A very happy Chritsmas to you MARY, and I do hope you find a housemate, and that all goes well.
    May 2013 bring so many blessings and your beautiful open heart so willing to receive.
    Love to you and yours.

    E

  3. such a lovely city you live in!! I miss it, it’s been too long… I was so happy to wake in the morning on that day (and not find craziness/zombies/you know…) and see life and beauty, not that I was really worried but still… I am grateful for your blog. It’s a spot I visit after my morning meditation goddess time. thank you for posting wonderful lady!! xo m

  4. Fern’s worldliness is something to be envied. She must take after her mama.

    I hope this new age brings you joy, health, peace, and love. Thank you for sharing your words, images, and wisdom. You’ve pulled me out of some pretty dark depths, just by simply being you. I hope others, including myself, can learn from your example.

Leave a Reply

