Ah Choo Cha Cha Cha

We’re going viral over here.

As in the first cold of 2013. If we were a meme, it would sound like Jeff’s snoring symphony of congestion. It would look like me clinging to the last 1/8″ of the family bed with Fern curled up against my back like a bundle of elbows and knees, the boogers in her nose rattling out Latin music.

I can imagine these guys are having a similar experience, sans boogers.

IMG_2662

We went back to Ardenwood Farms with the whole gang (Jeff, Leo, Uncle Shaners).

IMG_2665

IMG_2640

We are speeding recovery along with Mommy’s Medicinal Lemonade.

Mommy’s Medicinal Lemonade

1/2 lemon
1 tsp echinacia tincture
1 1/2 tsp rosehip syrup (or raw honey)

Squeeze your lemon half into a tea cup. Add tincture and fill with hot water. Dissolve syrup or honey and drink to the last drop.

(You could substitute apple cider vinegar, or powdered vitamin C for the lemon).

We are down to the last 1/4 of the bottle of my Elderberry Syrup, and while I will be trying my hand at this rockin’ recipe, it won’t be ready for a month, along with the scary ass Fire Cider that is steeping on the counter.

I’ve managed to ward off The Sickness so far, but I almost hope I get it in a month or so, just so I can dose myself up with homemade remedies.

Speaking of viruses and bacterias and Susun Weed’s limitless collection of head bands, this video is great for explaining why bacteria fighters like echinacia and elderberry are still vital when you have a virus.

How was your weekend?

p.s. Quite a few of you requested the recipe for homemade mochi…that’ll be coming up this week!

4 thoughts on “Ah Choo Cha Cha Cha

  1. oh man, in complete sympathy with you, I want you to know that every night about 3am I’m called up to Mia’s bed while she snorts and snuffles and coughs up her lungs. Knees in my back and fists caught in my hair. We’re a tired bunch over here too. Speaking of M’s; my Mia spotted a Monarch in our garden just a couple of days ago. I am thinking of planting some Swan plants to encourage more. As to those white cabbage moths…and the birds eating my tomatoes! grr.

  2. Oh Mary, you poor things. We were unwell for the entire run up to xmas and I am doing everything I can to stay well for the foreseeable future! I know you make your own amazing elderberry syrup – but if that quarter bottle runs out too soon – we’ve been using this: http://www.sambucolusa.com/store/
    It’s pretty good!

  3. Oh man, we’ve avoided this so far (knock on plastic imitation wood-flooring), but everyone we know is sick sick sick. I hope your peeps’ recovery is speedy and complete and you yourself stay healthy. It’s no fun anticipating illness. maybe I’ll make some of that yummy lemonade just to be safe.
    ps. those monarch friends are beauteous. like out of a dream.

Leave a Reply

