Meet Your Maker

In my twenties, I was terribly prone to what I called hamster wheeling. Obsessive over-thinking, fueled by anxiety, that also created what felt like a revved up engine in my belly. I worked through a lot of this in my 30s, and after the birth of Fern, have enjoyed a relatively peaceful mind. (Relatively is the key word in that sentence). For reasons unknown lately, I have gotten stuck in my head, much to my dismay. Maybe mid-winter restlessness, maybe too much inactivity due to sniffles, maybe the sun being in lofty and high minded Aquarius, maybe different hormones since breastfeeding has been done for a few months… I don’t freaking know people, but man I have needed a break from myself.

So I’ve been keeping my hands out of idleness and my mind out of mischief, as it is wont to do, by little craft projects. I also have a few recipes I’ve been wanting to share with you all, as they’ve been keeping my tummy out of hollow craziness.

You may remember Dolly, Fern’s first friend. Dolly who belonged to Mama, made by someone I no longer remember. Dolly, who started the Can-Can phenomena that is still going strong (Did I tell you I took a Can Can class in January? Now I can do all those sweet moves! Fern just makes up her own.)

From 2011


Awwwww…unexpected fuzzbrain sighting. *tears*

Dolly has been looking a little well loved lately, and I have been telling Fern that I can give her new hair. Suddenly, the moment was right.

Before:

IMG_3761

IMG_3763

IMG_3767

Then we shaved her head and Dolly got all badass.

IMG_3774

IMG_3771

IMG_3768
Dolly really rocked the self esteem, by looking at herself in the mirror and liking what she saw, and how it made her feel all tough. Plus, she noticed how nice it was not to have to worry about how her hair looked. We also talked about how Mama once shaved her head. Fern gave me the blank stare…I think I might have blown her mind.

We gave Dolly a bath and then put her through two dryer cycles. Fern was a little concerned for Dolly, and set up a chair down on the porch to wait and offer moral support. I did the sound effects of Dolly going arouuuuund and arouuuuund and arouuuund.

I had just planned on giving Dolly fresh brown yarn for new locks, but Fern decided she wanted…yellow!

So Dolly went blond and changed her style too.

IMG_4027

IMG_4028

We spent two afternoons, just hanging out in the sunroom while Mama sewed on Dolly’s new hair. Fern was very interested, as well sad at times, as Dolly went through stages of just bangs, then a mohawk look. When she was finally done, Fern’s face lit up as she said, “Well, look at that!!”

And then Dolly had to dance…

IMG_3846

Also, I mentioned last week that I was making a Valentine Heart Banner.

IMG_4029

Sara recently sent along some of her beautiful hand-made buttons. They are so smooth and pretty that they feel good just hanging out in a pocket. But I did want to use them, so now they will be displayed every year and I have one more for a pocket friend.

IMG_4032

I need to sew the little tab on at a different angle, so that they hang more upright and look more like hearts, but otherwise I like how it turned out.

And now for that recipe.

I actually have a backlog of recipes I want to share (that kale salad that Milla liked, the enchiladas that Missa liked, plus the date balls that have become my solution to low blood sugar). But for today, I have…

Breakfast Cookies!

This is a modified recipe from the New York Times. They are low gluten (if you count oats as gluten), low or no sugar and easily varied. Basically, it’s like oatmeal in cookie form and it is SO nice to have a container of them around to hand to little hungry grumpy girls.

They’re also the ones we took to last weekend’s rally.

IMG_3861
This version had raw cacao, for extra pep in the step.

Also, it is not necessary to serve them with a dirty Duck, but it might make them taste better.

IMG_3723

Breakfast Cookies

1 very ripe banana
1/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup maple syrup or honey (optional)

3/4 cup gluten free all purpose baking mix (we use THIS and it is AMAZING with no weird flavor)
2 cups oats
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon (1/2 tsp cardamom is nice too)

optional: raw cacao nibs or powder, walnuts or, if you are ok with more sugar, chocolate chips!

Preheat the oven to 350

Mash the banana well. Combine it with the oil and syrup.

Add your dry ingredients. Mix well.

Take large tablespoons of the batter and mash them into cookie shape. Place on lightly greased cookie sheet.

Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes or until golden on the bottom and edges.

That’s it! So easy and so good!

IMG_3729

What recipes are you addicted to lately? And have you been getting your craft on? Tell me. xoxo

7 thoughts on “Meet Your Maker

  1. love you and miss you, especially after seeing those cookies, and that girl of yours! I’ve been having a most lovely break from the people and gotten my craft on….made some lavender drawer sachets, plum jam, Rosemary hair oil, and embarked on honey/onion cough syrup last night….Oscar is going to be the unwitting recipient of this concoction. I want to try to make those cookies, we don’t have “baking mix” here though – what do you suppose it is, GF flour and baking poweder? Actually we probably do have it, I’ve just never used a recipe that called for it. ALSO, I really appreciated your advice and thoughts on my peer parenting post. That post came from a place of wide eyed shock at how mindless many of the parents are around my neighbourhood and social group…most of them are good people, and smart; but just haven’t thought very far ahead. And I think the attitude of “it must be okay because everyone else does” is very prevalent. The latest thing now is buying younger siblings their own personal computer thingummyjig. So for example….while the older one is on whatever computer appliance…the younger one ( mia’s age) can be entertained in their bedroom on another handheld smaller version- the perfect solution to whining and fighting! (and thinking and creativity and doing stuff with your kids) There is so much to say on this topic, i will have to save it for another day. i’ve seen Sara’s buttons before, they’re so beautiful and you found the best place for them on that banner.
    til next time
    xoxo

  2. Look at all your lovely makes! Love the Dolly re-do – she looks happy and so does Fern. Those cookies are making me hungry, mmm oaty goodness… I’m in the process of making some plush unicorns for my girlies. I only really have stolen moments for stitching, and I’m trying to do both at the same time, so they are taking forever, but the girls are excited for them to be finished. I hope they look as nice as they do in my head!

  3. a can can class???????!!!!!!!

    awesome.

    and i’m happy to read that hamster-wheeling does subside.

    maybe along with growing into those magical feminine mature hearts?

    i do like dolly.

    probably due to some egotism.

    loved the video of you and fern and the dancing dolls.
    that sort of thing becomes a treasure.

    maybe i’ll make a dolly for linky. he might like biting it better than he likes biting me!

    xo

Leave a Reply

