Shiver Me Timbers

Ahoy, me hearties!

Avast ye and batten down the hatches! I’m a sailin’ away. I can’t take this bilge-sucking city life anymore, and only scurvy dogs work for free. Been sittin’ in becalmed waters for too long. As for my planetary concerns and climate change…scupper that! I will just float on the rising waters.


The soundtrack, from his album of mid-life crisis.

Me an’ the rapscallion headed down to Pier 40 this week to go on account with the tall ships Lady Washington and the Hawaiian Chieftain.

IMG_4276

IMG_4278

IMG_4283
The Hawaiian Chieftain

IMG_4284
The Rapscallion. She had been so psyched all day to go see the pirate ships, even began planning her outfit hours before. Then, an hour before leaving, she fell asleep. Grumpiness plus overwhelm made for hanging the jib.

IMG_4286

IMG_4290

IMG_4291

IMG_4285

IMG_4296

For just a bit of loot in the coffer, we were able to come aboard.

IMG_4297
The Lady Washington. You may recognize her from Curse of the Black Pearl. Me matey Johnny was putting a crack in Jenny’s teacup and had gone ashore.

IMG_4299

IMG_4301

IMG_4302
Both ships were equipped with little cannons…working ones!

IMG_4303

IMG_4304

IMG_4305
But why is it there if I can’t???

IMG_4307

IMG_4310
Still salty.

There was grub cookin’ and me first mate wanted to stay for dinner.

IMG_4313

IMG_4314

But we weren’t invited so we just kept lookin’ round.

IMG_4315

IMG_4316

IMG_4317

IMG_4319

Fern gave no quarter and foul winds prevailed. But afterwards she proclaimed “how fun!” it had been.

IMG_4327

She looked like she wanted to keelhaul someone. I can relate, actually.

IMG_4325

IMG_4331

Fern helped me plan my outfit too. It’s one of my favorite things about living in San Francisco…I can dress like a pirate or be loaded to the gunwalls and no one raises an eyebrow…

IMG_4223

IMG_4225
Thought I may never wear this skirt again and almost got rid of it. Glad I didn’t!

IMG_4254

The tall ships will be in the Oakland harbor this weekend, and also engaging in a mock cannon fight.


See them in full sail and such a cute vid too.

Don’t care if you have to hornswaggle, run a rig or blow the man down…just show a leg and go!

(For more fun pirate talk, check out this Pirate Glossary of Terms).

4 thoughts on “Shiver Me Timbers

  1. Wow- so fun!! And your boots just totally rule! I like the part about how you can just cruise around like a pirate without raised eyebrows 😉 Happy Friday!

  2. aw, my kindreds. the same sister ships visit our town every year, too, and we never miss a chance to hop on board and shiver our timbers. one of these years i will cough up the dough and take quinn on one of the day sails… back when the chieftain called sausalito its home port, i was in grad school at berkeley and used to go out and volunteer as crew on some of the day sails on weekends. she’s a fine little ship.

  3. that was me… earthhuggy2 being my wordpress handle. i’m not sure why i still have to correct it that i want mb in the name slot. maybe i need to tell it to avast!

Leave a Reply

