There’s Faces in the Rocks

Our family might have a bit of an addiction. But it’s one I feel okay enabling.

We love kids’ books and children’s lit. We have a lot of it and our collection seems to be growing exponentially. Our four foot wide, three shelf high bookcase in the bedroom is packed. The display case in the sunroom is overflowing. Both Jeff and I have stacks on our nightstands. Yet we flock to the library weekly and no used bookstore goes by un-perused.

One of the places we always strike gold is at the Goodwill in Redding. Their kid’s book section is loaded, untouched and filled with vintage goodness. I s’pose folks there prefer to go to Barnes and Nobles. Lucky for us, because we are the richer for it. And it is there we have deepened in love with our biggest obsession. The work of Byrd Baylor and Peter Parnall.

I mentioned Byrd Baylor on this blog a few years ago, and we still consider Everybody Needs a Rock to be one of our favorites. This book was our gateway into a full blown affair. Baylor, being a soul sister in natural history and animism is in a perfect creative marriage with Parnall’s illustrations. Her words ring with sacred silence and his drawings give me the chills.

Recently, we acquired a few books written and illustrated by Parnall only. I’ve scanned in some of my favorite illustrations here for you, both from his work with Baylor and also his solo work. Enjoy!

From The Other Way to Listen

PARNALL 1 16

PARNALL 1

Desert Voices

PARNALL 1 2

PARNALL 1 3

The Desert is Theirs

PARNALL 1 1

The Way to Start a Day

PARNALL 1 12

PARNALL 1 14

PARNALL 1 13

The Daywatchers

PARNALL 1 5

PARNALL 1 6

Annie and the Old One

PARNALL 1 8

PARNALL 1 4

PARNALL 1 7

Woodpile

PARNALL 1 11

The Rock

PARNALL 1 10

PARNALL 1 9

I think, as far as addictions go, this is a good one to have.

IMG_7819
Nori addiction is good too.

I encourage you to Google Baylor and Parnall and check out their other titles. You can often find them on Amazon for a penny.

I bet y’all have your own favorite children’s authors (Hellooooo Baum, Alcott, White, Lewis…). What are your secret finds? What are your heart’s favorites?

P.S. I actually don’t have terrible grammar. The title is from this song.

10 thoughts on “There’s Faces in the Rocks

  1. Well…………wow…….I didn’t know about these guys, but I’m captivated by the illustrations, must be hard not to pull em out and put them on the wall. Reading is becoming defunct (not in our house) around me, when I take the kids out to whatever they have to do – swimming or music; it seems de rigeur for other children to play on tablets and phones while they wait for siblings to finish their lessons. Mia loves fairytale rhymes, Oscar is kinda past picture books, but loves maze or “finda” Where’s Wally type books, as well as chapter nonsense books, about things like farts and poos and aliens. x

    1. Teeny, when I was out at Secret Beach today with Fern, there were a bunch of kids horseback riding…AND TWO OF THEM WERE LOOKING AT THEIR I-Phones!!! I was horrified. But I did shame one of them into putting it away by remarking about it really loudly to Fern.

  2. yes! Everybody Needs a Rock is amazing. I gave it to my very adult bff for her birthday a couple years ago. love it. have you and fern read “When the Sun Rose” and “Grandfather Twilight” by Barbara Helen Berger? Magic. You must find them if you haven’t yet. xo

  3. I love love love Byrd Baylor. Also, AA Milne, EB White, Roald Dahl, Louisa May Alcott, Grace Lin, Will Hobbs and the picture of your little people reading. I love that as kids grow, so does the level of their reading sophistication, ie: my kids and I are now enjoying the same books (which is to say kids’ chapter books, but still). Also, I loved your comment on my blog today. I always do. So much heart in your words. xoxo

  4. I remember Annie and the Old One from when I was growing up! I became obsessed with weaving, and made little looms for myself out of cardboard and yarn. Diving into these pictures was a great way to start my day, thank you!

Leave a Reply

