Hey Good Lookin’, What’s Cookin? Herb Butter and Coconut Ice Cream

(But not combined. Although I ‘spose you could use an infused herb butter in ice cream. Hmmmm…).

This post was almost not brought to you today by My New Astrology Class. I had my first one last night, and while the initial part was very validating of my decision and I experienced lots of little personal fireworks, the second half had me regretting that decision I made in highschool. The decision that said, “I’m never going to use it anyway, so who cares about Math?”. I sat down this morning to write and instead starting Googling How to calculate aspects in astrology and Understanding degrees in Houses. I got sucked in and 45 minutes later, here we are.

Did I ever tell you I had to take algebra II four times before I got a passing grade? The part of my brain responsible for math is like Rip Van Winkle, except I don’t think it was ever awake in the first place. Sigh. I’ve got my work cut out for me.

Lucky for you, I understand just enough math to make delicious food. And my intuition does the rest.

Our first recipe is a no-brainer, but I often forget to do it. It’s perhaps the best way to make vegetables extra spesh, with minimal effort.

HERB BUTTER

IMG_8438
As I was taking this photo, Jeff said, “Taking pictures to showcase your blonde dinner?”.

Figuring out What to Have for Dinner sometimes leaves me standing in front of the open refrigerator door for 10 minutes, hoping for Calgon to take me away. Often, a mess of veggies sounds the best to my tired soul…and the simplicity makes my tummy happy too.

Perhaps, like me, you grew up with a Mom who put butter, salt and pepper on your vegetables. It’s still the way I like them best, but an herb butter has more sophistication, so you can feel all fancy.

Ingredients:

2-4 Tb of butter, ghee, coconut oil or Earth Balance
2-4 Tb chopped fresh herbs (Marjoram is my favorite. For this recipe, I used Basil on my beans. You can also try Oregano, Thyme, Chives or Cilantro).
salt and peppah
lemon zest (optional)

Putting your butter in a small dish, mash it up to a creamy consistency.

Add in your herbs and lemon zest (if using). Mix thoroughly with the butter. Let stand for at least 10 minutes. It’s a good idea to make this butter before you make the rest of the meal, so it has more time to meld.

When your veggies are done being steamed, put them in a bowl and plop in the butter and S&P to taste. Stir and let melt. Serve up and enjoy!

IMG_8442
I could have put chocolate sauce on the beans for all she cared. She wouldn’t touch them. So I’m not vouching for the kid friendliness of this recipe. You want kid friendly, scroll down.

On another note, this past weekend we spent a lot of time in the North Bay looking at decrepit farm hand houses with sloping floors and stinky carpet that are being rented out for the bargain deal of $$Givemeafuckingbreak. The sunshine of our otherwise overcast experience was a stop at the Goodwill in Petaluma, where we found a Donvier Ice Cream Maker for 7 bucks.

$T2eC16N,!ysE9sy0hYPRBR,LZij0gg~~60_57
I stole this pic from e-bay, but ours is the same model.

The Donvier Ice Cream maker consists of a metal bowl with interior walls filled with a mysterious substance. You freeze said bowl, pour in your (vegan!) ice cream mix, crank for 20 minutes and voila! Frozen dessert!

Jeff said, “But how many times do you think we’ll actually make ice cream?”

Twice in one week, so far!

I often run across recipes for vegan or coconut ice cream and lament my lack of appliance. No more! I hope that you have one too, or can borrow one from a friend, because we have officially declared homemade coconut ice cream as the mascot for this summer (taking the place of our long-standing pal, Pie).

Homemade Coconut Ice Cream

IMG_8457

If you’re making this, of course you’ll need to follow the instructions for your own apparatus.

Ingredients:

2 13-15 pz. cans full fat coconut milk (Some cans are 13.5 ounces, the ones we used were 14, depends on the brand).
1/4 cup Agave
1/2 tsp Vanilla ( or almond extract is great too!)

Flavor options: For our two batches, we used Blackberry Jelly from New Zealand (Teeny!!) and for the other, wild plums from our back alley tree.

Dump the coconut milk in the blender. Add the agave and vanilla. Blend for 1 minute. It’s important to blend the coconut milk, otherwise you’ll end up with little coconut oil ice bergs. Trust me.

With the Donvier, we cranked it for 20 minutes, adding in the flavorings at 15 minutes.

For soft serve, you can eat it right away. Otherwise, put in a freezer safe container (we used a bread pan), cover with plastic or wax paper and freeze for one hour – overnight.

I highly recommend making this after dinner and then leaving overnight. A scoop of coconut ice cream on top of your oatmeal is a perfect way to celebrate summer.

IMG_8453

IMG_8504
We added about a 1/2 cup of small dice plums to this batch. They are little tart surprises amongst the creamy sweet.

Have a great 4th of July, everyone! And do me a favor, yeah? Take it easy with the fireworks around small people…like birds, dogs and babies. It won’t make any sense to them why the world is exploding.

As far as our own almost 4 year old goes, I hope we get our hands on some sparklers.

xoxo

One thought on “Hey Good Lookin’, What’s Cookin? Herb Butter and Coconut Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

