Hey Good Lookin’, What’s Cookin’: Ponyo Soup

Haaaaammmmmmm!

If you’ve seen this bizarre little interpretation of the Little Mermaid story by Hiyao Miyazaki, you know exactly what I’m talking about. But for the rest of you.

Ponyo is a fish. Sorta. When she meets a little boy named Sosuke, she is introduced to the human world…and human food (ham). I can’t even try to nutshell this story for you. The plot structure is chock full of details that are never explained yet are important to the overall arc of the story…oh who am I kidding? Miyazaki made this movie for little kids, and I think his general plan was, “Kids don’t need complex explanations, so I’m just going to let Ponyo escape from her drag queen father and his magic pesticide sprayer, give her some chicken feet and Christ’s ability to walk on water and call it good.”

So there’s this adorable scene where, after being taken in by Sosuke and his mother, the two kids are warmed up on a stormy night by ramen soup.

tumblr_mpfjzku8sp1qfwp40o1_500

One of the first times that Leo slept over, Jeff and I were racking our brain for a special dinner that the kids would eat. What if we made Ponyo soup?

Turns out I’m not the first person to have this genius idea. Officially, the soup is ramen with egg, ham and green onions, and I found two traditional Ponyo recipes here and here. But at the time I didn’t have any guidelines, so we made up our own vegetarian version.

PONYO SOUP

Ingredients:

Miso (I always use white, but any type is fine)
Ramen, soba or udon noodles (One package ramen per person. If you are using soba or udon, you’ll have to eyeball your proportions)

Toppings:
Veggies (This time we used carrots and baby bok choi and cabbage. Any combo is fine…just slice ’em thin and small)
Shitake mushrooms, sauteed first.
Nori or dulse
Fried egg
Bacon or ham (veggie or the real deal if you eat piggies*.)

IMG_9499

IMG_9497

IMG_9504

Cook your noodles until tender. If you are using ramen, they do not need to be boiled, but instead soaked briefly in boiling water. If you are using veggies that could use a little blanching, add them in during the last couple of minutes, then scoop out with a slotted spoon before draining your noodles.

Also, before draining your noodle water, reserve one cup of water per person/serving for the soup. To each cup, add 1 T of miso and stir until dissolved.

While your noodles are cooking, saute your bacon and mushrooms (seperately), if using.

Fry one egg per person.

If you are using nori sheets, I like to cut them up into strips and then smaller pieces from each strip.

The most difficult thing about this soup is prepping all the toppings seperately. You can keep it simple by just doing eggs, bacon and one veggie.

When all your components are ready, assemble your soup.

Put a hearty helping of noodles in each bowl (this soup is really all about the noodles, come on). Arrange your toppings over the noodles, saving the seaweed for last. Pour the miso over, and voila!

IMG_9508

If you are eating with a kid, sit back and enjoy the entertainment…

IMG_9522

IMG_9520

IMG_9510

IMG_9519

What do you put on top of your Ponyo soup? Let me know!

(*The isolated soy protein in that “bacon” up there is not ideal, but I am back to eating no meat. I just can’t do it folks. I was on a fish kick for a while, and I also had a bacon month when we were camping. But when I truly feel my heart, when I deepen in, it grieves me too acutely to eat animals. We played with some baby pigs at the last fair that we went to, and that did it. When I am far enough away from contact with animals, I can almost take an intellectual stance that makes meat eating possible. But since I don’t plan on living in this concrete jungle forever…Anyway, doing bone broth for now. We’ll see what happens.)

8 thoughts on “Hey Good Lookin’, What’s Cookin’: Ponyo Soup

  1. Holy holy! I love it. I’ve always thought HM’s brand of magical realism, or is it realistic magic, works because he jumps over bridges of logic rather than trying to build them. The world is not logical, it’s magical. Kids get that. Ham aside, I’m excited to make this soup. Also, I feel the opposite, in a way. The more time I spend around animals and the people who raise them the more okay I feel about eating them. In small quantities. For special occasions. Love you. Hugs to Fern.

    1. yes, his magical realism is why i lurve him so. but ponyo does cross this line into the bizarre…which i think may be due in part to culture (japan vs. u.s.a.) and disney’s translation. but in the end, it doesn’t matter, because it speaks to the heart and imagination and i would totally become a foster mom to a chicken fish girl too. šŸ˜‰

  2. ponyo is my favorite kid movie isn’t from my own childhood. i watch it all the time, i actually made my kids sick of it. tell me you have seen Miyazaki’s other movies. you would adore My Neighbor Totoro and Spirited Away. ALL his movies are amazeballs but those are my other favorites. i always want to eat Ponyo’s soup from that scene, i can’t believe i never considered making it! thanks for the suggestion.

    1. oh yeah, we are big miyazaki fans around here! i can’t wait until fern’s old enough for spirited and howl’s, not to mention mononoke. did you hear he’s retiring? šŸ˜¦

  3. lucy is OBSESSED with totoro. i may have to do a blog post about it. it’s the first movie or anything you watch on a tv that she actually likes and watches. she dances immediately as it opens. she LOVES little mae and all her adventures. anyway we want to get her ponyo next, and i will have to try this soup this fall. i would do it with the fake bakin, although like you said those meat substitutes are certainly not ideal, we use them so seldom that i guess they can’t really hurt already healthy bods. i love the tempeh bacon even more, do you think that’s healthier?

    happy september to you loves!

    1. i want lucy and fern to be totoro friends! that image of lucy dancing to the theme music makes me so happy.

      i def think the tempeh bacon is healthier. tempeh is one of the best soy foods you can eat. but unfortunately for our family, fern HATES it. :/ can’t say i blame her…it can be an acquired taste. xoxo

Leave a Reply

