Sun, Moon, Rising: Chart Analysis Giveaway!

Do you know yours?

The-earth-moon-and-sun

After all these years of studying astrology, there’s still just three simple things I am interested in when looking at a chart, three things that make the YOU in you.

The sun sign, the moon sign, and the rising (or ascendent) sign.

Sunrise Over the Golden Gate Bridge

Whenever I talk to other astrologers, and this remains true for the current class I’m taking, there is this way of getting lost in the details. The details of aspects (one or more planets in relation to another planet), especially. Sometimes it can turn into intellectual masturbation, with intricacies being expounded upon in length. I tend to get fairly prickly about this type of thing, and my soul goes in search of simplicity.

PNG2108N Moon1.jpg

Course, that prickliness doesn’t always serve me so well, and so that’s why I’m currently driving myself crazy in my advanced class, pushing my edges and sticking with it and all that fun stuff.

But as I integrate new information, I have learned that the best way for me is to write about it (Hellooooo foraging and wild medicinals!). So I still want to start with the basics, and this is where you come in.

planet_earth_rising_above_the_lunar_horizon____by_tomefc98-d5q25tu

Would you like to know how these key placements shape you? Would you like to be given a better oar with which to paddle your canoe? Leave a comment below telling me what part of the trinity you think influences you the most. Or, if you are unfamiliar with astrology, why you are interested to know more! I will randomly choose someone next Monday (Sept. 16th) and on Wednesday, will do a write up on your magical three! I will be sharing an image of your chart, so you need to be ok with that kind of thing. Also, I will need your birth info after I choose you in order to do a write-up, so do tune in next Monday!

Love.

17 thoughts on “Sun, Moon, Rising: Chart Analysis Giveaway!

  1. Ooooh! I don’t know a whole lot about astrology aside from the generalizations surrounding the different signs (Libras a judgy but fair-minded, Leos are self-aggrandizing, Geminis are flighty & talkative, Cancers are moody homebodies, etc. etc.), but it’s something I’ve always been fascinated with. I feel most strongly influenced/enchanted by the moon, definitely. Always been a night owl. Been moved to tears by the sight of the full moon shrouded in mist as viewed from a mountaintop. Felt her pull. So… yeah. Hope you randomly pick me! I’m fine with putting my stuff out there. πŸ˜€

  2. Hello ! I had been following you for several months now and you keep surprising me. Interesting, this idea of astrological chart.
    I miss your tutorials and foraging fridays… You mentioned once in Γ  post that you would separate your blogs and dedicate those topics to your prof. Blog, Did i get you right? If so would you kindly let me know your other blogs please.
    Kind regards

    1. hi valeria! the other blogs are still in the works, and i am also still unclear as to the defining line between this one and any other ‘professional’ ones. i will def still do foraging and tutorials on here, and when i am ready to launch the others, i will for sure announce on here. πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Mary, I’d love to know more about my own astrological birth signs. I know that I love the moon, and most of the time feel positive energy from it. Having said that, I also love strong gusty wind; and feel the same joy then. HA! I love too much.
    xo

  4. Oh, yes, please! I don’t know much about astrology besides the basics. I used to know my moon and rising signs when I was a teenager, but it’s slipped my mind now. I’m an earth sign and have always felt so connected to the land, but as I’ve grow older my interests have expanded to far away moons and planets.

  5. Sounds interesting. Usually I would pass on this type of thing but I had a recent interaction with someone who I just met that has piqued my curiosity. After we had chatted for a few minuteds, she almost guessed my exact birthday. She was off by three days. Apparently she has a knack for guessing birthdays, but I didn’t get the hows or whys. Now I want to know what is it about my personality that “gave me away” so to speak.

  6. Hi, Mary! I have been in your Wildlands class this year–which has been such a gift, thank you!–and I would love love love to have your perspective on my chart. My sun is in Scorpio … in fact, we share a birthday! Moon is Pisces, and rising is Gemini. So excited about this!

  7. I don’t know much about astrology beyond the basics, but have always felt the pull and shades of the confluence of sun, moon and stars on my life and soul. This is a time of new labyrinthine discoveries, so knowing more would be a gift!

  8. Hi Mary, silent reader from Sweden here. I’ve been following you for a while now, but felt too much of a stranger to comment, even though I’ve wanted to. I used to be somewhat into astrology, mainly because my favourite writer AnaΓ―s Nin was too. She made charts for many of her friends, and at the time I found that fascinating. Since then I’ve forgotten most of it.

    I’m a Sagittarius, moon in Cancer, Libra rising. Haven’t looked into the meaning of it much (lately), except it’s supposed to be “not so good”, at least the sun/moon combination (fire/water). I think, if anything, the contradiction is what influences me the most. I’m too much of a skeptic to believe in astrology, but the romantic in me would like it to have some bearing.

  9. i’m not much for astrology these days but i used to be suuuuuper into it. aquarius, moon is aries, sag rising. i have not one drop of earth in my chart and my only water is somewhere way down the line in the generational ones, where everyone born for the last 50 years has the same one.

  10. That’d be so fun! Aquarius, Pisces and Libra. I had my chart done a long time ago, and don’t really remember tons about it, but of course, you’ve re-envigorated my interest.

  11. I would say my Taurus moon has most influenced my life up to now – I’ve read that until your moon needs are met, it’s hard to realize your true sun potential (Scorpio). And the many times you’ve mentioned yearning for a home where you can live more in harmony with nature matches the same yearning (and despair) I’ve felt for years, not having the financial resources to implement it so far. But my Aires rising keeps me moving forward, just the same. Something that has always puzzled me about astrology is how two people born within a few hours of each other, though on different sides of the world, could have such different lives and resources. I was born just a few hours after Prince Charles and about all we have in common is our love of organic gardening (not that I would ever want to trade places with him!) I’m glad you are still pursuing your astrology studies and look forward to your future postings about it, but as mentioned by others, I also really love reading about your foraging Fridays. I’ve learned so much from those posts! Thanks for putting yourself out there!

  12. oh mary….i have been wanting to send you an email for months now……i will get there one of these days! just know i’m thinking of you.
    i do love astrology and i think it’s a crime that i haven’t ever had my chart done! so…..really i pay attention only to my sun sign. i did have my vedic astrology chart done years ago, but don’t really remember the info from it. so……i’m going to throw my hat in the ring here! i hope you’ll be doing future astrological posts as you get deeper in β™₯

  13. doh! i’m sad i missed the deadline on this, i am very curious about it. you said to say which i think is most dominant and for me, i don’t know beyond my sun sign but i don’t think aries is dominant in me at all (though it is DEFINITELY there!) i selfishly think i must have water signs in my other slots. anyway this sounds fun! i love the images you posted, too. πŸ™‚

  14. every one is excited ’bout this! i’d love to have tea with you and geek out over our charts.

    did you know:
    that there is very little water/earth in my chart?
    except for: pisces rising (on the aries cusp!)
    saturn in capricorn?
    jupiter in taurus. thank heavens. πŸ˜‰

    do you know what is fun?
    tallying all of the individuals you’ve kissed/crushed on and noting their sun signs. lullz.

  15. Sun in Pisces, Moon in Cancer and a Scorpio rising. Am I in trouble or what. I always felt a little emotional different, a little too sensitive. After all these years I’m use to it. It’s become useful to see the truth in the hidden language of life. To think on the mental images that people send and to understand them is finally something I’m learning to understand.

Leave a Reply

