A Room of One’s Own

Do you know this collection of essays, Virginia Woolf’s important treatise on why there aren’t (or I should say weren’t, during her time) more women authors?

I do recommend you read it, but in short, historically women’s voices have not been heard (for so many reasons, and also) for the glaring reason inherent in the title. Men get to escape the family, take space, have private time and once they get that time, none of it needs to be spent on fighting for their equal rights. Obviously much has changed, and while women often are, I think, still by and large the ones really hooked into parenting, a room of one’s own feels less literal. In our family, with both of us working, where money and time is scarce, and since we have made the (fortunate and blessed) choice to homeschool…a room of my own, especially in my head, just doesn’t exist. Except after 8pm, and folks…Elvis and everyone else has left the building at that point.

I have some self appointed writing assignments coming up, including one with potential for publication. Everyday I hope it will be the day I can dig in, and each night finds me adding the day to a pile of defeat. Thank goodness for the accomplishments I can count, starting with this smile…

IMG_0653
Making “marshmallows” with Marshmallow Root, part of the Herb Fairies that we are still loving.

IMG_0659

IMG_0663

Can I also count shelling and leaching acorns, or is that frivolous? (For my tutorial from last year on acorns…)

IMG_0675
What you don’t see is the village of acorn grubs, squinching around on the bottom. Both the kids LOVE the grubs, think they’re sooooo cute. They are, and there’s nothing worse than peeling an acorn and uncovering a grub in bed. Right now the plan is to save them all and then drop them off by some oak trees this weekend. (The world is ensouled, even grubs.)

IMG_0672

IMG_0678

IMG_0679
1/8 of the acorns down. 8,000 left to go. Wish I had a pet squirrel.

I know, I know, this post is just a variation on a theme. I think I already said all this. Like last week. So in order to get out us all out of this little eddy we’re in, starting next week I will be featuring some guest posts, from some of your favorite gals. I’ll kick us off with an article on Monday and then leave it to the girls while I go find that room of my own.

See you next week!

9 thoughts on “A Room of One’s Own

  1. Mary,
    It’s been a while since I’ve been able to look into the blogosphere and see what you’re up to. As always your posts are timely for me as ever. My mom and I were just talking about A Room of One’s Own. (she read it for the first time in a feminist literature class for retired folks) That’s a discussion in itself, but I HEAR YOU, SISTER. For me the days are one long output from the moment my eyes open in the a.m. until they shut at night. Only to be interrupted by a hungry little baby every few hours. I’m foggy and I can sort of remember time for ruminations and creative bursts and personal interests/pursuits outside of taking care of my kids, their enrichment, or my work responsibilities. Alas, I go on an on… And you, I’m always amazed at what you are able to make time for. Embroidery, marshmallows, acorns. Will you be my mom? So lemme give you props, you’re pretty amazing and how is Fern SO beautiful?!
    XO,
    Veronica

  2. oh hell yeah i’m familiar. so much of it rings true, despite the gap in time and place. i love how she even focuses on such basic comforts as meals. i have that quote on my sidebar, something along the lines of “one cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.” ah yes, the wine and sweetmeats must be flowing, the body must be rested and comfortable, the time wide open and the mind open to all the flowing energies of good conversation, spirited thought processes, following the mental paths wherever they may lead, and thoroughly so. becoming a mother has made me think a lot about this subject. i have written that for now i am content to just focus on bringing up babies, but i do hope to find my room, metaphorical or otherwise, in real life again. and i do sometimes look back on all that wild open space, emotional, physical, and mostly intellectual, that i occupied before with a dreamy look in my eye. i trust it will return to me. i waited so long to become a mother that i was ready to give up my room for a while 😉 but i have to keep dreaming of that space, to think, to write, to converse, to make art, to write some more. i feel it in me when i journal, when i get deeply into something i’m reading, and even sometimes when i have long walks or drives with my daughter and get a chance to clear my head (she naps, perhaps?) and fill it again with all that lovely comforting pleasure that allows for free motion and full range of thought.

  3. i’m really excited for your self-appointed writing projects,
    and i can’t wait to read them. you must be very disciplined.

    by the looks of it it is clear to me that you and fern are very beautifully productive.
    i feel that way sometimes, i’ll start the day with this wonderful creative esoteric list of “things” to do
    and by the end of the day i’m so happy that i went on a walk with my boys and fed them healthy meals.
    Barby Kingsolver wrote something in “flight behavior” that always stuck with me, and i’ll paraphrase: being a mother of young children is like being alone but never being alone.
    (the busyness and isolation of it, i suppose.)

    i cried the other day because i was so envious and inspired by http://alittleweather.com/ my sweet cousin who lives freely and weaves and i felt so stuck with two kids and a house and hated myself for feeling that. it was a cleaning out my inner closet day. just check out her blog portion to see the fabric she weaves, oh dear it’s the stuff of dreams. i spent a big chunk of time with her last october in a yurt, and all i did was chase my kids around!

    that daughter of yours really does glow. what an amazing photo of her at the top.

    yum yum yum to those puffies she made.

    dare i say i love you?

    too soon?

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

