Scoot On Over

One drawback about living in a tiny house is the close proximity of everything to everything. Like my daughter’s morning breath to my nose upon waking. Or my writing desk to our bed, which I bumped with my ass while straightening the covers, causing a furniture quake. The precariously perched monitor to the computer came crashing down, and now the screen looks like an etch-a-sketch. This makes photo processing impossible and writing nearly so, since the keypad on my ipad makes me technocidal.

So I’m on a blogging time out. However, I did manage last week to get the beta version of my new blog up and running, with a post to boot. I’m all kinds of indecisive about it, but I’d love for you to check it out, and feedback appreciated.

In the meantime, here’s a glimpse of our weekend shenanigans, which I captured with the ipad camera. I love the Anglo-Saxon tradition of celebrating the first harvest of grains and apples, sometimes known as Lammas (loaf mass) or as the Gaelic festival Lughnasadh. A traditional story for this festival is John Barleycorn, the stanzas describing the stalks of barley as a man, John, who is cut at the knees but always arises anew, and from whom society relies upon (especially upon the ale made from grain alcohol).

The kids and I read the story and then listened to the song. They began to act out the lyrics and the idea of puppets was born. We took a walk around the farm, gathering stalks of wild grain and grass, feathers and acorns and then spent a good two hours in production. The end result seem to be characters of bioregional animism, a cross between the kami and the muppets. We were quite pleased.

image

image

And for those of you who aren’t on FB with me, here are some other goodies from the past week or so.

Rivertown Revival photos…

image

image

image

image

image

The county fair.

image

And an abundance of elderberries.

image

If you’ve been with me for a while, you might be wondering about The Bioregional Swap, which I always got going around this time of year. I have a confession to make…I still haven’t sent my two partners their packages from last year! (Sorry girls). Also though, I didn’t get too much feedback last year from folks about their swap, and I get the sense that folks lost steam. So big love and thanks to those who participated in the past, and maybe we’ll pick it up again at some point in the future.

Alright kids, stay tuned. Gods of computers willing, I hope to be back in bloglandia in the next week or so. In the meantime, what are you harvesting and celebrating as our summer (or winter for So. Hemi folks) comes to a close?

xo

4 thoughts on “Scoot On Over

  1. love the new blog layout! so bright and clean! i’m so sorry i didn’t get to see you when i was so close to you. sad face. i will be back there soon enough, i know it. what a gorgeous freaking place, sheesh. i love it there.

  2. I like the look of your new blog, and I gotta say I admire your dedication to not swatting flies… especially living on a horse ranch. I was kinda wondering about the bioregional swap, and sorry to hear it won’t be happening. I’ve had fun with it for the last two years. 🙂

  3. I like your new layout of your blog. I too am sad to hear that the bio-swap is not going to take place. I was blessed to have participated last year and I was connected with the most kindred spirit. Maybe next year. Thank you for your time and efforts in hosting an awesome swap last year.

Leave a Reply

